The AIA Southwest Washington Honors and Awards Programs are part of a long-standing AIA  tradition of recognizing individuals and organizations for their outstanding achievements in support of the profession of architecture and the AIA.  Through these popular member programs, we aim to celebrate each other’s accomplishments and increase the public awareness of AIA Southwest Washington and the profession of Architecture.

AIA Southwest Washington Honor Award (Annual)

The purpose and mission of the AIA Southwest Washington Honor Awards is to:
  • Recognize excellence in architectural design by local members of the American Institute of Architects, and in doing so advance the public recognition and contributions of its members, their firms, and their profession to society.
  • Educate the public about the importance of quality design in creating healthy vibrant communities, to encourage clients to strive for higher design goals, and to acknowledge their support of quality design.
  • Provide member architects an important vehicle for peer recognition.

Past Recipients of the AIA Southwest Washington Honor Award

McGranahan Architects – 2007 (Honor Award)

Charles T. Pearson Award (Semi-Annual)

Charles Pearson was a leader among his peers in bettering our community through the practice of architecture and his personal volunteer efforts. Chuck, along with Charles Lea and John Richards began their architectural office in 1937. Lea, Pearson and Richards were tremendously successful and was the largest office in Tacoma for decades, involved in projects across the state.

Professionally, Chuck was one of the founders of the Southwest Washington Chapter of the American Institute of Architects and was its third President in 1958. He was President of AIA Washington Council in 1962 and was elected to the College of Fellows of the AIA in 1973.

In addition to his professional involvement, he liberally gave of his time to better his community. In 1954 he was President of Downtown Tacoma Rotary and in 1969 he was the President of the Chamber of Commerce.

The AIA SWW Chapter endeavors to recognize member architects in our community who are serving in the spirit exemplified by Chuck Pearson during his professional career. Please review the invitation for nominations and nomination form for further information. If you know of someone who would make an outstanding candidate, take a moment and nominate them.

2015 Pearson Award Nomination Form

Recipients of the Charles T. Pearson Award

James McGranahan, FAIA – 2013

Randy Cook, AIA – 2011

Morton Safford James III, AIA – 2009

Gary Chandler, AIA – 2007

Peter Rasmusen, FAIA – 2005

Ilmar Reinvald, FAIA – 2003

Alan Liddle, FAIA – 2001

Jim Merritt , FAIA -1998

Jim Harris, FAIA – 1996